Do you have adblock enabled?
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(CapAlert)   CAP reviews ICE AGE (PG) -- a bright and dazzling achievement in computer animation with a warm story ... to indoctrinate your children to the theory of evolution   ( ) divider line 398
    More: Obvious  
•       •       •

7677 clicks; posted to Main » on 19 Mar 2002 at 9:32 AM (13 years ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»

398 Comments   (+0 »)

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | » | Last | Show all
2002-03-19 09:35:23 AM  
god dont let this be another evolution thread. when are these nutcases gonna get off it, god and evolution can go hand in hand just fine
2002-03-19 09:35:30 AM  
You bastard, Ray Romano, look at what you've done. Using cartoon animals to push evolution through humor and wholesome fun.

2002-03-19 09:35:52 AM  
CAP is good ... for me to poop on!
2002-03-19 09:35:56 AM  
God, Monterey?

2002-03-19 09:36:29 AM  
Jesus H. Christ, it's those evil evolutionalists!!!

Funny flick, I saw it over the weekend.
2002-03-19 09:36:56 AM  
"Indeed, *Ice Age* is a good way to indoctrinate your children to the theory of evolution if you are into that sort of thing."

Pushing CAP writers off of buildings is also a good way to teach your children about the THEORY of gravity... If you are into that sort of thing.
2002-03-19 09:37:05 AM  
[image from too old to be available]
2002-03-19 09:38:09 AM  
I want to know what Emeril thinks about this, he is a bastion of rationality and sophisticated thought. Emeril kicks these discussions up a notch. Bam!
2002-03-19 09:38:10 AM  
"watcha got there Daaaaaaaaaaaaavy?"

"A pipe bomb, for to blow up Planned Pregnancy."

"Oh I don't know Daaaaaaaaaaaaavy......"

"I'm sick of your lack of faith!"
2002-03-19 09:39:23 AM  
people like those who run the CAP report make me glad I'm going to hell.
2002-03-19 09:39:59 AM  
How can anybody believe something like evolution? It's obvious that a super wizard created the entire universe magicaly for our enjoyment. Duh.
2002-03-19 09:40:59 AM  

Oh no! We can't be having any of that evolution can we!? Why we should all be ignorant and stupid for all eternity, to save our souls!

Give me a break. So why is there a fossil record if God really created everything (including humanity) in 6 days? Some Christians believe in truth and that God created the world with evolution. Others are like CAP, and need to be burned at the stake. No really. Please silence these morons.

2002-03-19 09:41:24 AM  
I find it amusing that they only took off one point for the evolution thing. "Oh, it's a great movie, even if it's blasphemous."
2002-03-19 09:41:56 AM  
Well thank farking God there's nun of that preevertd homosex
content in that there cartoon.
2002-03-19 09:43:43 AM  
Pretty tame, considering it came from CAP Alert.
2002-03-19 09:44:47 AM  
You know, a CAP review of the Bible would be pretty interesting. Plenty of examples of:

- sacrificing your own children
- murder (LOTS!)
- homosexuality
- numerous acts of revenge
- talking bushes
- genocide
- idol worship
- crucifixion
- magic (whoops, I mean 'miracles')
...and much, much more.

Why is it that all these things are acceptable when telling ONE story, but not when telling another?
2002-03-19 09:46:02 AM  
Cuttleware : Are you insane? What do yous think of them critters playing with ter nuts! If that aint homorotic they can call me a libral sissy pants.
2002-03-19 09:46:27 AM  
Sahara, good point. That's the sort of point that should be mailed over to CAP to see what kind of response you'll get.
2002-03-19 09:47:29 AM  
Cap has been sending me newsletters that get blocked by my company's filters for "langauge". From CAP for God's sake!
2002-03-19 09:48:57 AM  
Personally I find this site really useful. If they hate a movie then I will watch it and if they like a movie then I'll avoid it like the plague.
2002-03-19 09:49:11 AM  
Uhm, just because some examples of homosexuality, murder, and child sacrifices are in the Bible, doesn't mean the Bible (or those who adhere) ADVOCATE these actions! For pete's sake people.

2002-03-19 09:50:23 AM  
"talking of eating a human baby and personified characters"
"talk of slicing up personified characters for food"

These are really that bad? Humans are the species that has pretty much farked this planet up for everyone else with nukes, pollution, deforestation, global warming, etc, etc, etc, the only species that kills and eats its own, the only species that kills its own for fun and profit, and you're biatching about humans getting eaten? In my not-so-humble opionion, if any species has to leave, it should be humanity.

"battle with several implied deaths"
Apparently these retards don't understand concepts such as "war" and "fighting".

"attention drawn to fecal matter"
because as we all know, god made a mistake when creating our excretory systems which are intrinsically shameful.

"animal attacks"
Because as we all know, any tigers, lions, pumas, and bears that are not peaceful are possesed by satan.

"animal attacks, threat to kill, great fall, battle with several implied deaths, 'An eye for an eye' as justification for revenge, "
Guess we shouldn't read the bible then.

/angry pissed off rant-thing.
2002-03-19 09:51:56 AM  
Armothe: I don't think this film is advocating murder of sacrifice of children either. The reason these nutcases are opposed to it is because they don't want people to be "exposed" to it.
2002-03-19 09:51:59 AM  
these fundamentalists need to farking shut up. They ignore most of the Bible anyway(old testament) and just follow certain parts.
2002-03-19 09:52:30 AM  
Let me give you a little inside information about God. God likes to watch. He's a prankster. Think about it. He gives man instincts. He gives you this extraordinary gift and then what does he do? I swear, for his own amusement, his own private cosmic gagril he sets the rules in opposition. It's the goof of all time. Look but don't touch. Touch but don't taste. Taste but don't swallow. And while you're jumping on one foot to the next, what is he doing? He's laughing his sick farking ass off. He's a tightass. He's a sadist. He's an absentee-landlord! Worship that? Never!
2002-03-19 09:54:15 AM  
It's a great movie, even if CAP did like it!
2002-03-19 09:54:30 AM  
Omegacerebus: Quite right. As i've said time and time again, God is an asshole.
2002-03-19 09:54:50 AM  
Armothe: Just because a cartoon shows a coyote chasing a bird does not mean Warner Bros advocates murder, but try telling CAP that.

By the way, you're telling me that the Bible doesn't advocate murder? I bet there are a LOT of Egyptian first-born that would disagree with that.

It seems that while God decries murder, he is a major proponent of 'justifiable homicide' - which, since he is God, is always justified.
2002-03-19 09:55:50 AM  
I hope Fox will consider a celebrity tag team boxing match between CAP and PETA.
2002-03-19 09:56:27 AM  
CAP is such CRAP. If it was up to them, all movies would be 90 minutes of Jesus dying on the cross. Mmmm, maybe these guys at CAP should concentrate on things like why the Catholic church covers up molestations and hides priest who rape young kids. Oh wait, that would be something positive. Nevermind.
2002-03-19 09:56:30 AM  
No, god isn't an asshole. If you say that again you won't inherit the earth and will have to go to bed with no supper.

He is an invisible monster who will punish you if you don't love him enough.
#2 [TotalFark]
2002-03-19 09:58:19 AM  
Thou shalt not make this another religious flame thread.
[image from too old to be available]
2002-03-19 09:59:14 AM  
Let me give you a little inside information about God. God likes to watch. He's a prankster.

Think about it. He gives man instincts. He gives you this extraordinary gift and then what does he do? I swear, for his own amusement, his own private cosmic gagril he sets the rules in opposition. It's the goof of all time.

Look but don't touch. Touch but don't taste. Taste but don't swallow. And while you're jumping on one foot to the next, what is he doing? He's laughing his sick farking ass off.

He's a tightass. He's a sadist. He's an absentee-landlord!

Worship that? Never!
2002-03-19 10:00:51 AM  
[image from too old to be available]

Everyone farker sing!!!!:

Talking about eeeevoooooluuuution you's all CAPs plans. Their reviews are just pllllllaaaaiiiiin mmmmmaaaaad you know. Cause you got people with money and minds that hate, and brother you know they got more movies to burn at the stake. But you know it's gonna be know it's gonna be alright, alright....

*guitar solo*
2002-03-19 10:00:54 AM  
BigAl: You wouldn't dare! That would be my last supper too! Didn't you read BoCoMoFo's post? God needs more money or he'll be evicted!
2002-03-19 10:01:10 AM  
Did you enjoy the rest of Devils Advocate?
2002-03-19 10:04:06 AM  
Meek:Good rant, but I can think of at least 5 other species that are canniballistic from time to time.

Who knows if they like fava beans.
2002-03-19 10:05:15 AM  
God can't be evicted... If he has to come down to earth he will spend the rest of eternity fighting lawsuits from the ugly, unluck, etc, etc.
2002-03-19 10:06:42 AM  
Thank you CAP for making people with faith look like idiots.

I believe God created us, and evolution was his tool.

If im wrong, then I guess Im the tool.

So be it.
2002-03-19 10:07:11 AM  
Ashe3: Yeah, black widows, etc. Sorry, I was too tied up in my own hissy fit to worry about "facts" and shiat like that.

BigAl: Serves him right for creating lawyers.
2002-03-19 10:08:15 AM  
I like Monkeys.
2002-03-19 10:08:35 AM  
Armothe: In the old testament, god's stops way past psychotic. Sodom 'n' Gomora anihalated, and Lots' wife killed for peeking, kids being slaughtered by wild bears for laughing at Isiahs bald head (although *that* I approve of..), first born of egypt has already been mentioned. I lost count of the number of towns and villages abrahams lot were told to wipe out to the last man woman and child. And lets not forget the minor point about an entire world being slaughtered in a flood (a bad time to be an evil duck or fish apparently, and dagnamit - think about the seagulls!).

Omegacerebus: You missed out smoke but don't inhale ;) Now where'd I put that lighter...
2002-03-19 10:12:09 AM  
Er.....Saw the movie this weekend with my kids (girls 3 1/2 & 2) and I am fairly sure that they will make it though the experience just fine. Our kids are much touger and *SMARTER* than we give them credit for. At home when I ask what movie they want to watch 8 times out of ten they ask for Jurassic Park. That movie freaked me out at first. (it's ok to call me a wuss.)
The point is reviews like this are nonsense. I am a Christian but I don't immediately toss out evolution, because I am not stupid. I don't expect them to either because they aren't.
As for moive violence (or Harry Potter, or video games, or anything else) it is MY JOB as Mommy to 1)KNOW what they are watching (see it, read it, etc.) 2) Make sure that I am there to explain to them "Hey! this is not real. It's just a _________ (tv show, movie, game..) but if you want to talk to me about it or have a question ask me and I will explain it to you."

I don't need people taking care of my kids best intrests for me. Just like with the farking dodgeball thing. I WAS the farking "fat girl" is school and I can tell you now that I learned how to play the game and once I figured it out I loved it. SO THERE! :p I expect no less from my own children.
Sorry..... Cool movie. Funny and a neat Star Trek refernce too!
2002-03-19 10:12:54 AM  

Worst. Beatles. Caricature . Ever.

[image from too old to be available]
2002-03-19 10:15:04 AM  
Supie_: One of the most sensible theories on child raising I've heard in ages.
2002-03-19 10:15:15 AM  
The Southpark review is still a classic.

The guy is so pre-occupied with Saddam Husseins "life like" detached penis.

No wonder he's such a religeous freak.
2002-03-19 10:15:38 AM  
It takes as much faith for someone to believe in evolution as it does for someone to believe in creation.
2002-03-19 10:16:20 AM  
I suppose that Christians have always been a bit upset about the theory of evolution, but why have recent weeks seen it become such a bone of contention? Or am I perceiving incorrectly? Seems to me that kicking up a particular stink about it now - a full 143 years after the Evil Theory was published - you're kind of reducing creationism to the level of national socialism, flares and the Ford Capri...when surely its significant predating of Darwin lends it the not inconsiderable credibility of the passage of time. Still, I'm not the kind of man to stand in the way of a good, self-righteous orthodoxy shooting itself in the foot.
2002-03-19 10:16:27 AM  
"*South Park* is another movie straight from the smoking pits of Hell."

2002-03-19 10:18:27 AM  
Where's the creationists? They should come out of the woodwork to enlighten us about science in 5 .. 4.. 3 ..


Don't you simps know that the bible is the word of god. don't you know that evolution is lies and just another religion. you only want to beleive it becasue you fear a JUST AND LOVING GOD that will justge your wicked sinful ways. It's just a theory. It's just an opinion and you can't prove it. And it doesn't matter because I believe what I beleive, so there. :P



woohoo, more religious flames!!
Displayed 50 of 398 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | » | Last | Show all

This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
On Twitter

In Other Media

  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.